The SCO-SOC administers professional awards and student research and presentation awards.


  • The Doris Heustis Speirs Award is presented annually to an individual who has made outstanding lifetime contributions in Canadian ornithology.

  • The Jamie Smith Memorial Mentoring Award honours established ornithologists (professional or amateur) from academia, industry, non-government or government agencies in recognition of excellence in mentoring a new generation of professional or amateur biologists.

  • A new Early Career Researcher Award was established in 2016. The award honours fledgling ornithologists - in academia, industry, non-government or government agencies – that show strong potential for future leadership in Canadian ornithology


Student Research Awards are awarded annually to promising students studying Ornithology in Canada. The SCO-SOC administers three student research awards:

  • Taverner Awards are awarded annually to those with limited or no access to major funding, regardless of professional status, who are undertaking ornithological work in Canada

  • James L. Baillie Award is awarded annually to students studying Canadian birds in their natural environment, projects which contribute to preservation of birds, and projects which disseminate knowledge of birds

  • Fred Cooke Award is awarded annually to a student conducting ornithological research at a Canadian university for travel to ornithological conferences at which the student will make an oral or poster

  • presentation, or research in any aspect of ornithology anywhere in the world.

Student Presentation Awards are awarded each year at our annual conference for outstanding oral and poster presentations

Last Updated January 2021

Contact the webmaster Jennifer Foote

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Dernière mise à jour juin 2020

Contacter le webmastre Jennifer Foote